This responsive site is only compatible with Chrome, Safari, Firefox and IE 10 & above.

on:off

Public Art

The nature of Design Society is a cultural institution serving the public and the community. Public Art inside and outside the venues breaks the space limit and aims to build a growing art field for the public.

9

ICD/ITKE Research Pavilion

ICD University of Stuttgart: Achim Menges

ITKE University of Stuttgart: Jan Knippers

2013-2014

Glass, Carbon fiber reinforced polymer

Pub in December 2017.

Site:in side of  Nüwa Coastal Park

Caption

This modular Pavilion was inspired by the formation of a beetle shell, which reduces form to a minimum while maintaining geometric freedom. It was shown in the inaugural exhibition “Minding the Digital” of Design Society’s Main Gallery. Such form was made possible through robotic fabrication. The pavilion is the practical outcome which enabled nature-inspired principles to be integrated into the design process by applying computational technology.

Artist

Achim Menges is the founding director of the Institute for Computational Design at Stuggart University. His interdisciplinary research projects have been exhibited internationally at venues such as the Victoria and Albert Museum as well as Vitra Museum.

leading-the-art-lighting-3L

ON/OFF

Stickyline

2017

Pub in December of 2017.

Site:Inside of Coastal square

Caption

ON/Off is a paper installation which promotes an urban vision of a collaborative society. Its form is derived by taking abstract data from the Pearl River Delta andvisualisingit in tangibleshapes. This paper experiment showcases the power of digital tools to help design address urban issues and inspire collective reflection.

Artist

Stickyline is a design duoknown for creating large scale paper installations through 3D modelling and generative design. They have been collaborating in creative projects with Lane Crawford, Leica and Affordable Art Fair.

leading-the-art-lighting-1L

Kaleidome

LAAB

2014/2015

Mirror stainless steel

Pub in December of 2017.

Site:Outside of Coastal square

Caption

Kaleidome is a mirrored stainless steel structure composed of 242 laser-cut cellular units, it was shown in the inaugural exhibition “Minding the Digital” of Design Society’s Main Gallery. Using generative software, units were formed and assembled into a semi-spherical surface. Parametric design such as this has been widely applied in architecture to achieve complex organic shapes.

Artist

LAAB is a multi-disciplinary architectural firm in Hong Kong, who was given the Good Design Award and HSBC Youth Business Award.

《聚核》效果图1

A Unified Core

Liu Jianhua

2012-2018

Porcelain, Glass, Steel

Pub in September of 2018.

Site:In front of Main Galley

Caption

This piece of artwork is demonstrating the inner orientation of people. White leaf-shaped porcelains gather and disperse, and are placed in a transparent tetragonal container, which inhibits them from mixing with the outside or breathing. The free space instantaneously gets frozen, leaving people with perplexity and confusion.

Artist

Liu Jianhua (b.1962, Ji’an, China) is one of the best-known sculpture and installation artists in China, who makes good use of mix media. He has participated in major exhibitions, including the 57thVenice Biennale Arte “VIVA ARTE VIVA” in 2017. His works have been collected by institutions all across the globe including The Museum of Modern Art, New York and Tate Modern, London.

Antony Gormley Another Time XVII 2012 (high res)

Another Time XVII

Anthony Gormley

2014

Cast iron

Pub in September of 2018.

Site:Seaview Balcony,L3

Caption

The relationship between human body and the environment is intimate and complicated. The bronze-casted figure embodies the artist’s reflection on human’s existence. He brings the perspective of viewers into consideration to discuss the concept “Horizon.” Observing the environment in a vast space, one may find his or her body and the outer space merge into one, showing how human’s existence matters to nature and ourselves.

Artist

Sir. Anthony Gormley, OBE, is a prestigious British sculptor, whose best-known works include the Angel of the North, Another Place, Event Horizon, etc. His works have been exhibited around the globe, including London, Hong Kong, and New York, receiving tremendous applause.

20180926185234c456878b

Fish Trap House II

Cheng Tsung Feng

2018

Bamboo

Pub in December of 2018.

Site:In front of Main Gallery

Caption

This large sized fish trap is a new commission by Design Society. It embodies the craft wisdom of traditional fishing tools. Feng learned the making technique from an elder of the Taiwanese Thao Tribe. He researched and collected fishing traps from various tribes, exploring the reasoning behind different models. The type of material, prey and environment determine the traps’ varying shapes and sizes. The designer used this traditional wisdom to determine a new shape, to catch the visitors of Design Society | Sea World Culture and Art Center.

Artist

Cheng Tsung Feng is a young Taiwanese designer with an old soul. He is fascinated by old crafts and traditional objects, especially bamboo items. He explores these as conveyers of past wisdom and preserves their values by designing new work from their tradition.

PAO_SNF_1

Social Network Factory

People’s Architecture Office (PAO)

2018

Steel Structure

Pub in November of 2018.

Site:Outside of Coastal square

Caption

“Social Network Factory” is a large-scale outdoor installation where visitors and community can playfully interact with each other, consists of twisting large-diameter tubes, located inside of a triangulated steel structure. The installation encourages direct physical engagement: visitors can climb through it, rest on it, slide down it, augment sounds through it, and look through its periscopes to see the city and environment beyond.

This structure investigates how a newly developed urban setting can foster a sense of belonging and social connection. PAO has used a pragmatic design solution to promote an urban vision that emphasizes community and social interaction, encouraging participation in order to transform public space into community space.

Artist

People's Architecture Office (PAO) is expert in creating innovative, trans-disciplinary and challenging design. PAO is a young, award winning architecture practice based in Beijing, and consists of a multi-disciplinary team of architects, engineers, product designers and urbanists. With the belief that design is for the masses the studio focuses on social impact through design.

20171121230422fcf00ff1
The Sea World Culture and Arts Center

The Sea World Culture and Arts Center is the first building by Maki and Associates in China. Designed in 2011, every aspect of the building was crafted to reflect its function as a premiere public institution to make a connection between public and art. 

设计互联|海上世界文化艺术中心建筑纪录片_腾讯视频

The website is currently a beta version.

Continue browsing

Please view vertical.

此网站目前只兼容Chrome、Safari、Firefox和IE 10及以上的浏览器。

on:off

公共艺术

设计互联的本质是一个服务公众与社区的文化机构,场馆户内外的公共艺术打破空间的限制,致力于为公众构建一个不断生长的艺术场域。

9

ICD/ITKE研究亭

斯图加特大学计算设计研究所:阿希姆·门格斯

斯图加特大学建筑结构与结构设计学院:扬·尼佩斯

2013-2014

玻璃、碳纤维加强型聚合物

发布时间:2017年12月  

地点:女娲公园侧草坪

作品简介

设计互联主展馆开幕展“数字之维”参展作品《ICD/ITKE研究亭》是一件模块化的建筑结构,设计师运用计算机技术将自然原理融入到建筑中,其灵感来自甲虫外壳。它使用了最少且最简单的模块单元,达到极大自由度的几何形态。

艺术家简介

这件作品的主要创作者阿希姆·门格斯教授是德国斯图加特大学计算设计学院创始人,他的跨学科研究项目曾在英国国立维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆(V&A)和德国维特拉博物馆展出。

leading-the-art-lighting-3L

彻夜难

Stickyline

发布时间:2017年12月

地点:滨海内广场

作品简介

“彻夜难”是一个关于光污染的纸质装置。设计团队受到珠三角的环境数据启发,通过程序计算生成作品形状。抽象的数据能够通过数字化设计转化为具体的形态,帮助人们进一步了解城市问题,促进民众参与,创建协作型社会。

艺术家简介

Stickyline设计团队擅长使用计算机技术设计大型纸质装置。与连卡佛、莱卡和买得起艺术节(Affordable Art Fair)有长期创意项目合作。

leading-the-art-lighting-1L

漫花丛

LAAB

2014/2015

镜面不锈钢

发布时间:2017月12月

地点:滨海外广场

作品简介

设计互联主展馆开幕展“数字之维”参展作品《漫花丛》是由242个镭射切割单元组成的镜面不锈钢结构所组成的半球体装置。每个形态不一的结构均由计算机生成,能与其他单元无缝镶嵌,构成一个完整的形状。这种利用计算机生成不规则形态的设计手法称为“参数化设计”,多用于建筑领域。

艺术家简介

LAAB是香港建筑设计公司,致力于跨领域设计实践。曾获日本优良设计奖及汇丰银行青年商业大奖。

《聚核》效果图1

聚核

刘建华 

瓷、玻璃、钢 

2012-2018

发布时间:2018年9月

地点:主展馆前厅

作品简介

《聚核》是中国著名当代艺术家刘建华应设计互联委托创作的新作品,旨在探讨人的内心精神指向。在一方透明的空间中,由素白瓷烧制而成的叶片凌空飘逸,似聚而松,却无法与外界融合,也无法呼吸。好像自由的空间在此迅速凝固,透露着人心恒常的困惑和迷茫。

艺术家简介

刘建华,1962年生于中国江西吉安市,现生活和工作在中国上海。他以综合材料为主要媒介进行创作,是中国著名的雕塑和装置艺术家。刘建华参加了2017年第57届威尼斯双年展主题展“艺术万岁"等重要展览,作品被纽约现代美术馆和伦敦泰特现代美术馆等重要美术馆收藏。

Antony Gormley Another Time XVII 2012 (high res)

Another Time XVII

安东尼·格姆雷

2014

铸铁

发布时间:2018年9月

地点:三楼望海阳台

作品简介

英国知名艺术家安东尼·格姆雷(1950-)的人体雕塑举世闻名,他通过创作思考人类存在的意义,探讨人体和自然空间之间亲密而复杂的关系。他通过着重考量观者的视角,来讨论“地平线”这一概念。在开阔的空间中观察着地平线的瞬间,人体仿佛与外在空间形成了一个整体,展现出人类存在对于自我以及自然的意义。

艺术家简介

安东尼·格姆雷爵士(OBE)是英国著名雕塑家,他的代表作有:“北方天使”、“另一个地方”、“地平线”等。自2007年起,他的作品开始出现在世界各地,包括伦敦、纽约及香港等地,并赢得了极高的国际声誉。

20180926185234c456878b

筌屋II

范承宗

2018

发布时间:2018年10月初

地点:主展馆前厅

作品简介

设计互联邀请台湾知名设计师范承宗创作了这件场地特定的新作品,它也是设计互联主展馆第二档展览“造物新世代”的参展作品。这个大鱼筌体现了传统渔具的智慧。范承宗向台湾邵族长老学习制作鱼筌,由此了解到制作材质、猎物种类和环境决定了鱼筌的形状和大小尺寸。他收集部落保留下来的鱼筌,探索它们背后的故事。在当代社会,传统工艺和智慧能扮演怎样的角色呢?在这件作品中,观众变成了“猎物”,而设计互联|海上世界文化艺术中心这座场馆则成了他们的生存环境。

艺术家简介

范承宗是个身体里住着老灵魂的年轻创作者,他着迷于挖掘隐藏在传统器物中、以时间凝结而成的智慧。他着重于研究竹器物,为了保护这些器物的无形价值,他从传统中找到灵感,然后设计新的物件形式。在这个过程中,他以过去的智慧和文化遗产为基础,探索传统工艺在当代的定位,从传统中学创造。

PAO_SNF_1

社交厂

众建筑

2018

钢结构

发布时间:2018年11月初

地点:滨海瞭望台

作品简介

应设计互联邀请,国际知名建筑设计公司“众建筑”创作了这组大型户外交互装置,名为“社交厂”。“社交厂”由一系列内置于三角空间钢架中的扭转钢管构成,其充满未来感的形式鼓励公众的探索使用,它能被攀爬,被依靠,被滑行,还能收集倾听周围的声音,更能通过内置的潜望镜观察海边城市的环境。“社交厂”旨在促进人们对新兴城市区域的归属感,增进社区联结。众建筑运用这样的可使用型设计方案,强调社区与社会互动,实际展示城市愿景,以此鼓励公众参与,共同将公共空间转化成社区空间。

艺术家简介

众建筑擅长创新、跨界和富有挑战性的设计,并因此屡获殊荣。众建筑团队常驻北京,成员包括建筑师、工程师、产品设计师和规划师。他们以“设计为大众”为原则,致力于发挥设计的社会影响力。

20171121230422fcf00ff1
海上世界文化艺术中心

海上世界文化艺术中心是槇综合计画事务所在中国的首个项目。建筑的每个细节都经过仔细推敲,以展现其作为公共机构的建筑特性,参观者能够在这里自由漫步,欣赏美景,对话艺术。

设计互联|海上世界文化艺术中心建筑纪录片_腾讯视频

目前网站正处于公测阶段

继续浏览

请将手机竖屏观看