This responsive site is only compatible with Chrome, Safari, Firefox and IE 10 & above.

Xiaomao Wang


Xiaomao Wang, German-trained violinist, National First-class Performer, Council Member of the Chinese Musicians’ Association. He played as guest concertmaster for the China National Symphony Orchestra and Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. Currently he’s serving as the Assistant Music Director and concertmaster of the National Ballet of China Symphony Orchestra. He’s also appointed Distinguished Professor of the Orchestral Instruments Department of the China Conservatory of Music.

Xiaomao Wang began his study of the violin under his father at the age of four, subsequently entered and studied at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and the Central Conservatory of Music. He traveled to Germany to pursue further studies at the Hochschule für Musik Freiburg in 2001.

He graduated with full marks in the summer of 2007, and was awarded a Doctorate in Music, the highest degree of musical study granted in Germany, and also received the school's distinction as an Outstanding Performer.

Xiaomao Wang studied successively under the violinists Zhang Shixiang, Lu Mengda, Ding Zhinuo, Huang Xiaozhi, Wang Zhenshan, Lin Chaoyang, Polish violinist Magdalena Rezler, and German violinist Rainer Kussmaul (first concertmaster of the Berlin Philharmonic) and others.

He has performed worldwide, with appearances in over 20 countries including the United Kingdom, France, Austria, the Netherlands, Italy, Luxembourg, the United States, and Japan, and has been invited to perform with a number of renowned orchestras in China and overseas.

He was served as the principal of the second violin section of the Freiburg Opera Orchestra in 2005, and has performed as soloist with the Freiburg Philharmonic Orchestra in numerous concerts.

He has achieved great acclaim from German critics, and was praised by the Badener Tagblatt newspaper as “the young man from the East with a crystal-clear bow, displaying a perfect combination of music and technique.”

In 2008, he was appointed concertmaster of the Theater Mönchengladbach, becoming the youngest concertmaster in the orchestra’s history.

Xiaomao Wang returned to China in 2010, and became the concertmaster of the National Ballet of China Symphony Orchestra since 2012. In 2014, he joined the Dragon Quartet, a cooperation with violinist Ning Feng, cellist Qin Liwei, and violist Zheng Wenxiao.

In 2019, Xiaomao Wang has received an honor of “Natianal Young Talents in Cultural and Ideological Works”.

You May like

The website is currently a beta version.

Continue browsing

Please view vertical.