This responsive site is only compatible with Chrome, Safari, Firefox and IE 10 & above.

超级明星:移动中国城,马岩松|MAD建筑事务所,2008,展品惠允:马岩松|MAD建筑事务所,图片提供:设计互联(1)

Values of Design: China in the Making

VALUES OF DESIGN: CHINA IN THE MAKING

Celebrating the power of design to innovate for our future
Exploring how design has shaped cross-cultural and cross-generational dialogue

2Y5A8559

 Values of Design: China in the Making was unveiled on 18 January 2020 in the V&A Gallery at the Sea World Culture and Arts Center. It is the first exhibition in China to explore the growing field of Chinese design and the first to attempt to understand how changing and evolving values are helping to shape what we design, produce and consume. Initiated and curated by Design Society, in collaboration with the Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A), the exhibition continues the success of the institutions’ long-term partnership, and is a follow-up to Values of Design, the inaugural V&A Gallery exhibition produced by the V&A in collaboration with Design Society in 2017.

DSC06852

The original Values of Design exhibition presented more than 250 objects drawn from the V&A’s extensive permanent collection – sourced from around the world and across a millennium – which questioned the relationship between how values inform design, and how, in turn, design shapes our values. In so doing, the exhibition touched on and highlighted some of the most important designers and design movements from the past, giving a global perspective on the subject through seven themed sections: performance, cost, problem solving, materials, identity, communication and wonder.

2Y5A8555

For Values of Design: China in the Making, Design Society in collaboration with the V&A have shifted the lens to focus on design developments in China to explore the changing design landscape in the country. China boasts a tradition of craft and artistry that stretches back thousands of years, yet the term ‘design’ is relatively novel, with varied definitions and interpretations. It emerged during a process of state modernization, and over the years designers in China have been learning from each other and testing out different approaches amidst an environment of rapid development and change. In this process, they have fused long-standing cultural practices with new innovations, finding unique solutions in response to a growing population, economic development, and the globalization of culture. The diverse expressions, experiments and strategies of design in China are contributing to the global conversation about innovation, sustainability, social equality – the values that shape our society today.

IMG_5471

Values of Design: China in the Making showcases 138 works organized into six sections: Patterns of Design, Problem Solving, Shaping Materials, Identity and Consumption, Enhancing Communication and Negotiating Cost. Within these sections, the exhibition tackles diverse themes including crafts, industrial design, poverty alleviation, environmental protection, rural construction, sustainability, urban planning, transport, architecture, aerospace, fashion, feminism, brand culture, digitalization and font design, among others.

Ole Bouman, Founding Director of Design Society, said: “This project is pivotal to Design Society’s mission to not only show and communicate design, but also to collaborate on new avenues, new roles and a stronger impact of design in China. It expands on and deepens the discourse explored in Values of Design, and highlights the most topical clues for its relevance to Chinese design practice today. It once again brings home China Merchants’ ambition to provide with Design Society a platform for creative practice, and be an interface for global cultural dialogue.”

DSC07136

Zhao Rong, Curator of Values of Design: China in the Making and deputy director of Design Society, said: “Making design a catalytic social force is the mission of Design Society. We felt it is time for Design Society to testify values of design in China, especially under the current state transformation from ‘Made in China’ to ‘Created in China’. We are privileged to work with both leading and emerging designers and entrepreneurs in China, in presenting a more agile, reflexive and attentive approach to look at the world we are living in.”

Brendan Cormier, Advising Curator of Values of Design: China in the Making and Curator of Values of Design, said: “This timely exhibition, conceived by Design Society, offers an opportunity to celebrate and explore the latest trends and developments in China’s ever-expanding design sector. It’s been exciting to revisit the ideas explored in the original Values of Design exhibition and shift the focus across to China, delving deeper into the wide-ranging work and innovation taking place.”

DSC07083

Tim Reeve, V&A Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer, said: “Two years on from the opening of Values of Design in the V&A Gallery, its successor Values of Design: China in the Making marks an important moment in our partnership with CMSK, as Design Society builds its own curatorial identity as a growing authority on design in China. The partnership has enabled the V&A to share collections, ideas and expertise with new audiences in China, and we are delighted to have supported Design Society colleagues in the creation of the new Values of Design, working together to promote new perspectives on design.”

DSC06852

As China’s first major platform for innovative design, Design Society has curated Minding the Digital, Craft: The Reset, and Y-COMIC-X. Values of Design: China in the Making once again sees Design Society examine the societal impact of innovative practices in design, explore the dynamic social relationships fostered by design and offer critical observations on its place within a Chinese context.

DSC06831
Opening 2020.01.18 Saturday 15:00
Curator Zhao Rong, 唐司韵
Hosted by Design Society, Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A)

The website is currently a beta version.

Continue browsing

Please view vertical.

此网站目前只兼容Chrome、Safari、Firefox和IE 10及以上的浏览器。

超级明星:移动中国城,马岩松|MAD建筑事务所,2008,展品惠允:马岩松|MAD建筑事务所,图片提供:设计互联(1)

设计的价值在中国

设计的价值在中国

创新未来的设计力量
跨越多元文化
塑造几代中国人的生活记忆

  • 2020.01.19-12.20

  • V&A展馆

    海上世界文化艺术中心一层,深圳市南山区望海路1187号

  • 入场费¥68.00

  • 购票链接

2Y5A8559

由设计互联发起并策划、与英国国立维多利亚与艾尔伯特博物馆(以下简称英国V&A博物馆)合作出品的展览《设计的价值在中国》将于2020年1月18日登陆海上世界文化艺术中心的V&A展馆。这是中国第一个综合性梳理在地设计及其对中国现代化进程影响的展览,展示了价值观的变化如何影响着我们的设计、生产和购买行为。展览是设计互联与英国V&A博物馆长期合作的成果之一,也是2017年设计互联旗下V&A展馆首展《设计的价值》在本土语境下的进阶重启。

2Y5A8555

两年前的开创性展览《设计的价值》呈现了250余件英国V&A博物馆的精选馆藏,跨越地域与时代,广泛探索了价值和设计之间的关系,讨论了我们如何衡量事物的价值,以及这些价值观如何反过来驱动设计的发展。展览聚焦了设计历史上最重要的设计师和设计运动,以国际视野,围绕性能、成本、解决问题、材料、身份、沟通与奇观七大主题,开放性地探讨了设计的价值。

DSC06852

设计互联与英国V&A博物馆合作,在新展《设计的价值在中国》中聚焦中国设计的发展,以探索中国不断变化的设计价值和发展格局。尽管中国有绵延数千年的传统造物工艺,但设计一词相对而言是一个新概念。中国现代设计的发展与国家现代化同步,近百年来,中国的设计师一直在快速发展和变化的环境中相互学习,并尝试不同的方法。他们致力于融合悠久的传统文化与创新的当代实践,在应对人口、发展、经济与文化全球化等问题上,不断寻找独特的解决方案。如今,这些来自中国的设计,正在推动全球有关创新、可持续发展、社会平等的对话,提出更灵活、富有批判性与责任感的视角,深入审视我们的世界。

IMG_5471

此次展出的138件展品,通过设计风格、应对问题、材料成型、身份与消费、传情达意、讨价还价六大版块,覆盖工艺美术、轻工业与日用品、设计脱贫、生态保护、乡村建设、城市规划、交通、可持续发展、建筑、航空航天、女性、时装、数字化、字体等近30个议题,铺陈当下中国设计不同切面背后的文化思考。

设计互联开馆馆长奥雷· 伯曼(Ole Bouman)表示:“这是体现设计互联核心使命的展览,一方面,它展示并沟通设计,另一方面,它拥抱中国设计的新路径、新角色和更强的影响力。它基于英国V&A博物馆与设计互联合作的开幕展《设计的价值》,进一步拓展并深化对当今中国设计实践关键话题的探究。它再一次验证了招商蛇口将设计互联创办为开放创新平台、以及国际文化对话界面的初心。”

DSC07136

《设计的价值在中国》策展人、设计互联副馆长赵蓉表示:“设计互联很高兴可以与设计师、企业家合作,呈现此次展览。此次参展的实践者们有一个共同特点,他们敏感于中国社会变化,善于发现问题,不断完善方法,实现改变。我们希望展览将这些设计的故事与改变的能量传递给观众。”

DSC07083

《设计的价值》策展人、《设计的价值在中国》策展顾问柯鹿鸣(Brendan Cormier)表示:“这一由设计互联策划的展览很及时,它展现了中国设计领域的快速发展历程与前沿趋势。我为重温《设计的价值》的策划理念感到兴奋,并了解到在议题、领域上都很丰富的当代中国作品,以及最新的设计实践。

英国V&A博物馆副馆长兼首席运营官李傅廷(Tim Reeve)表示:“时隔两年,设计互联继开幕展《设计的价值》策划了《设计的价值在中国》,标志着英国V&A博物馆和招商蛇口合作的新里程碑。设计互联正在快速成长为中国设计领域的权威性策划机构。这让我们得以与中国的观众们分享英国V&A博物馆的藏品与经验。我们很高兴能够支持设计互联的同事们策划《设计的价值在中国》,共同推广关于设计的新视角。

DSC06931

作为中国首个大型综合创新设计聚合力平台,设计互联已自主策划数字艺术体验展《数字之维》、新工艺百物展《造物新世代》、神笔飞驰的宇宙《百年国漫大展》等大型展览。设计互联再一次立足于本土语境,以《设计的价值在中国》,洞察设计所引发的社会变化,透过创意实践,探究纷繁流动的社会关联,并批判性地检视设计的潜力。

DSC06831
开幕时间 2020.01.18 周六 15:00
策展人 赵蓉唐司韵
主办 设计互联英国国立维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆

目前网站正处于公测阶段

继续浏览

请将手机竖屏观看